Music Heals.

I’ve always been a fan of music. I honestly like most genres provide it has lyrics. For a long time, I wasn’t a fan of songs with Raps in them, but over the years I’ve come to like it. I listen to everything from Swing, to Country, to Rock’n’Roll, to Top 40 Pop. I’m currently at a point in my life (and I’ve been this way for probably about a year and a half now) where I cannot go a full 24 hours without listening to my iPod at some point. It’s as necessary as breathing. For a long while, I had quite sad, miserable playlists, full of music from the1975, Jack’s Mannequin, Augustana, The Fray, Fall Out Boy, and Jimmy Eat World. This isn’t to degrade any of those artists at all, as I find them all incredibly wonderful in their own way, but I was selecting the choice songs that made me feel my worst, combining them into a playlist and drowning myself in it on the daily (nightly). Clearly not my healthiest path.

I’ve always been a very lyrically attached person. Of course there are plenty of songs that I like for the beat, or the catchiness that are lyrically ridiculous, but I love being able to connect with the lyrics of a song.
I’ve recently adopted the practice of taking lines that I’ve connected with from songs and writing them on my double mirrored, wardrobe doors, where I read them every day for encouragement. Below you will find the line of the songs I have written, with links to the songs themselves.

1. All your scars won’t heal til you let go.

This line is from a song that I have connected with for many, many years that still affects me deeply to this day.

2. These wings are made to fly…

Little Mix are seriously one of the strongest girl-power groups I’ve ever had the fortune to listen to.

3 & 4. Having no regrets is all that she really wants… & There’s nothing to be afraid of even when the night changes

Night Changes has got to be one of my favourites of One Direction’s album FOUR. I fell in love with it the first time I heard it, and then the second I saw it performed I connected on an incredible level.

5. I know that I’ll get through this, cause I know that I am strong…

Ella Henderson’s cover of Believe makes me cry almost every single time I hear it from relating to it so strongly. It’s a truly beautiful song, but Ella has such a raw, powerful voice that I can just feel the emotion pouring out of.

6. Let’s have another toast to the Girl Almighty!

This one is pure power and energy! Always a good happiness boost and gets me pumped for the day ahead!

7. It’s okay not to be okay. Tears don’t mean you’re losing, everybody is bruising…

Jessie J is a powerhouse, and this song is an anthem for being brave and strong even when it feels like everything is crumbling around me.

8 & 9. I think I’m gonna win this time, I’m riding on the wind and I won’t give up Maybe we’re fireproof…

Fireproof. One Direction. I was shaking by the end of the first verse and full out sobbing by halfway through the chorus. This would be on my all time favourites ever list.

10. You can’t stop a true survivor… Cause I’m a true survivor…

I don’t think Stan Walker ever really broke past the Aussie/New Zealand shores, but his done fairly well for himself here. This was his first single after winning the final season of Australian Idol and a song I have loved ever since.

11. Don’t burn out, even if you scream and shout, it’ll come back to you…

I don’t even have words to describe how much this song means to me.

12. She ain’t waiting for luck, no wishful thinker, she’s gonna do it on her own…

Little Mix again. Kicking butt. I just love this song so much!

Leave a Reply

