My Mum the (attempted) matchmaker…

So day before yesterday I was out shopping with my parents and my 17yr old brother at Woolies when my Mum asked me to check the price on a box of ice-creams with the stocker guy. One short interaction later I head back to my Mum who immediately goes on the offensive; “Oh my god he thinks you’re cute. He totally went out of his way to help you. Stay here in his eyesight for when he comes back.” My bloody Mum tried to play matchmaker in the middle of a flipping Woolworths supermarket.

After we left, I politely explained to my Mum that I wasn’t interested in flirting with the stocker, not because he wasn’t cute (he was) but because I’m not really interested in searching for something, especially not in the middle of a supermarket. I’m shit around people in general, even worse in front of cute guys, and far too traditional to make to first move in the middle of a store. My parents then decided to team up on me and talk about how I should “get out there and find someone” because it’s important and I’m “already twenty-one” (like hold your horses woman!).

We had an interesting discussion after that; me talking about how I’m all for dating if the opportunity comes up and how I’m not purposely reclusive, just a little shy. My big argument was “why does it seem like a necessity to everyone else for me to be dating?”. Mum liked to argue back, it’s not a necessity and that I have plenty of things to do in life before settling down, but it would be nice for me to “have someone to share things with”. While I can’t argue with that, I truly feel like my Mum (and Dad) feels as though I should’ve found someone by now. I’m not going to sit here and say that I don’t want to fall in love, I do, so badly, but I don’t want to force it. I truly believe that things like that come to us when we aren’t looking for them, and I don’t want to look for it, I’d love it to surprise me and be like “whoops, look what happened here”.

That all being said, I feel quite confident about the year ahead for myself. I have quite a few plans in place, and overall, this year has a very optimistic feel to me, which I haven’t had in quite some time. I don’t remember looking forward to a year this much since maybe third grade, so I’m like super excited for 2015!

I have quite a few concerts lined up this year. The 1975 next weekend, The Vamps in late January, One Direction in early feb, Ed Sheeran late March. Then in May, my sister (19) and I are taking a month trip overseas. We’ll spend a week in Paris before doing a week long tour in Ireland and then spending the remainder of the time in England. I’m so thoroughly excited for this trip. I’ve wanted to go to England for as long as I can remember (since I was 8 and I read the first Harry Potter book) and it is finally happening for me. I also have a huge travel craving. The world is such a vast, expansive place and I just want to experience it all. Once we get back from our travels I have the 5 Seconds Of Summer concert booked for the following week. Then within the month after that I’ll have my cousins Hens Night, Kitchen Tea and Wedding! After July I have absolutely nothing planned and that is just even more exciting because I can still do so much!

I’m kind of spiralling off on a tangent, but basically, my Mum thinks I need to find love, I don’t want to rush things and I’m totally pumped for the year ahead!

Leave a Reply

