Both Of Us

I never understood why this song meant so much to me, and why I connected it to the person I do so strongly.
With him being happier now, it’s less relevant in a sense, but it still makes me think of him every time. It seems to be a recent revelation of something I’ve always known, but I connect it with my best friend. He means the world to me.

When this song first came out, I was in an awful spot, and his was bad too, if not worse. All I wanted was to be able to fix us both. I had so much love for him, but hated myself so much that I could hardly make myself happy, let alone both of us. I spent many a night with this song on repeat and sobbing into my pillow.

Now, three full years later, he has a beautiful girlfriend and seems much, much happier, and I sit here still not anywhere close to as happy as I once was, missing him and finally realising how much I care for my long time best friend and how important it is for me to see him happy.

I miss him. I love him. And as long as he’s happy, I’m happy for him.

Leave a Reply

